Four Fordham students selected for 2017 Innovate NYC program: The Community Mobility Challenge

Fordham University students  — Carlos Panjon, Lin Wang, Nicole Angelique Porco, and Shravan Wadhwa — have been selected for the 2017 Innovate NYC program. This program, run by the DO School and supported by the Newmans Own Foundation, is a collaboration among 11 NYC area universities to empower students with skills for the 21st century economy.

Now in its second year, Innovate NYC utilizes an approach originally developed by the DO School for Oxford University and leading organizations such as Siemens, Daimler, and the United Nations. Within the program, students develop entrepreneurial methods, work with diverse groups of world-class practitioners, and create real change.

This year’s Challenge centers on innovation in mobility. More specifically, the goal is to create a community centered ride-sharing solution that encompasses the entire city, while remaining economically viable. The challenger, Brooklyn Navy Yard, aims to boost New York City’s economic vitality by creating and preserving quality jobs, growing the City’s modern industrial sector and its businesses, and connecting the local community with the economic opportunity and resources of the Yard. To do so, they are doubling the number of jobs within the Yard by 2020 from its current level of 7000. However, how can the Yard do this without adding a single new car to their parking lots – as parking is already at maximum capacity?

This June, the Innovate NYC students will work with experts and social changemakers to develop and implement a hands-on solution to this problem. For the Yard,  Innovate NYC offers a critical way to solve a core operating challenge. For the students participating, the program is a chance to develop real world, 21st century skills for careers in social impact.

2017 Innovate NYC universities include:  Fordham University, Borough of Manhattan Community College, Brooklyn Law School, Columbia University, The Cooper UnionGuttman Community College, Macaulay Honors College, Medgar Evers College, The New School, New York University & Pratt Institute.

For more information on Innovate NYC please visit